Jason Block Wins Outright in Event 4

2020 Winter Poker Open
Seminole Hard Rock Hotel & Casino
Tampa, Florida
Event 4
$150 No Limit Hold’em (Re-Entry)
Entries: 150
Prize Pool: $18,000
December 7, 2020

Jason Block, Event 4 Champion

The new week kicked off with a smaller buy-in Winter Poker Open tournament that had another great group of players. The $150 buy-in tournament drew an even 150 entries and Jason Block took home the outright title for $4,860 after defeating Alex Vazquez heads-up.

Those 150 entries combined to create a prize pool worth $18,000 and a lot of money for the low price. The last 16 spots were set to make some money and they hit the bubble very quickly.

From there, things slowed down and the bubble took more than a level to burst. Jordan Joeckel was short with 17 players remaining but survived to book a min-cash.

WSOP bracelet winner Al Krux fell in eighth place on the final table bubble and the seven players settled in to play for the title. Doug Flagle, Lucas Tae, Matthew Zazaian, Tracy Allen, and Andrew Dill dropped by the wayside until we had a heads-up battle for the title.

Block held a big lead over Vazquez and the match only lasted a few minutes. Vazquez had to settle for second place but the $3,060 payout was the biggest of his career.

Block added to an already nice list of accomplishments, the biggest coming last January when he finished second in the WPTDeepStack Hollywood Main Event for $159K. That showing should have set Block on a heater for 2020 but that was put on hold, like everything else, because of the pandemic.

“It was bad timing but I was able to play some online,” Block said. “And I’ve been playing here and Hollywood since (poker) came back.”

The win was Block’s first recorded title but he plans to play a full WPO schedule for the rest of the week trying to win another guitar trophy.

Congrats to Jason and thanks again to our players for another great tournament.

Event 4 results:

1st: Jason Block – $4,860 + Guitar Trophy
2nd: Alex Vazquez – $3,060
3rd: Andrew Dill – $1,854
4th: Tracy Allen – $1,350
5th: Matthew Zazaian – $1,080
6th: Lucas Tae – $846
7th: Doug Flagle – $684
8th: Al Krux – $594
9th: Christina Read – $522
10th: David Tanner – $486
11th: Christopher Binion – $486
12th: Mohamed Abdelmutaal Elsayed – $486
13th: Martin Rodriguez – $432
14th: David Williams – $432
15th: Lana Nester – $432
16th: Jordan Joeckel – $396

Latest posts